A rechargeable torch light in Nigeria costs about ₦3,300 to ₦8,000 for an everyday LED torch, ₦5,000 to ₦13,000 for a rechargeable lantern, and up to about ₦40,000 for big camping lamps and solar torch kits (prices seen on Jumia, Jiji and Slot in October 2026). DP is the easiest brand to find and sits at the low end, at roughly ₦5,200–₦8,000 for its handheld torches. Prices move with the naira exchange rate, so treat these as ranges.
Quick answer
- Budget LED torch: about ₦3,300–₦6,000.
- DP handheld and zoom torches: about ₦5,200–₦8,000; DP searchlight about ₦14,000.
- Rechargeable lantern (torch + room light): about ₦5,000–₦13,000.
- Solar-charging torches and lanterns: about ₦8,000–₦29,000.
- Runtime: 2–4 hours on full brightness for most torches; up to 14 hours on low for lanterns with bigger batteries.
This guide covers lights you carry: handheld torches, lanterns, searchlights and headlamps. If you want a bulb that stays fixed in the ceiling and lights the room every night, see our solar bulb price guide instead.
How much is a rechargeable torch light in Nigeria in 2026?
We checked listings on Jumia, Jiji and Slot in October 2026. These are the prices sellers were asking.
| Type | Examples | Price seen (Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Mini or budget LED torch | Unbranded USB torches, Newpower 4-way torch | about ₦3,300–₦5,900 |
| DP handheld torch | DP 9086, DP 9118, DP 9189 | about ₦5,200–₦6,000 |
| Zoom or tactical torch | DP zoom torch, Kami, Kamisafe | about ₦5,900–₦8,900 |
| High-power Type-C torch | Unbranded aluminium torches | about ₦14,000–₦22,500 |
| Searchlight | DP LED rechargeable searchlight | about ₦14,000 |
| Headlamp | USB rechargeable headlamps | about ₦5,800–₦6,700 |
| Rechargeable lantern | DP lantern-torch, Lontor CTL-EL112, DP 3W emergency light | about ₦5,000–₦12,900 |
| Solar torch or lantern | Qasa QLTN-81B, generic solar camping lanterns | about ₦8,000–₦13,800 |
| Large lamp or solar torch kit | Binatone TK-200, Lontor CTL-OL153 | about ₦29,000–₦38,900 |
Many Jumia listings show a large “old price” with a 50–80% discount. The DP lantern-torch, for example, showed ₦40,000 crossed out and ₦8,000 as the real price. Compare on today’s price.
Which rechargeable torch brands are best in Nigeria?
DP (DP LED Light)
DP is the brand you will see most on Jumia, Jiji and in markets like Alaba. Its handheld torches (DP 9086, 9118, 9189) were listed at about ₦5,200–₦6,000, and its zoom torches at ₦6,600–₦8,000. A Jiji seller in Lagos listed a DP lantern-torch at ₦5,000, quoting about 14 hours as a torch and 6 hours as an emergency light, with a 12-hour charge from the wall. DP is cheap and easy to replace, but battery quality varies between batches. DP also makes rechargeable fans; see our DP rechargeable fan.
Lontor
Lontor has sold rechargeable lamps in Nigeria for years. On Slot, the Lontor CTL-EL112 2-in-1 lantern and torch was listed at ₦9,900, with 2–4 hours of light and a 12–14 hour AC charge. The larger Lontor CTL-OL153 camping lamp was ₦38,900, with a 5,600mAh battery, 6–16 hours of light and a rating of over 340 charge cycles.
Qasa and Binatone
Both are familiar Nigerian brands for small appliances. On Jumia, the Qasa QLTN-81B solar rechargeable torch and lantern was about ₦9,600. Binatone listed its TK-200 solar torch kit, with a 3W solar panel and two bulbs, at about ₦29,100, and its LA-120 mini lantern at about ₦15,100.
Sun King
Sun King makes small solar lanterns with LiFePO4 batteries and a built-in panel. Its Nigerian site lists the Pico Plus at ₦10,000, with up to 72 hours on low mode and 50 lumens. We could not confirm that price is current, so check with Sun King before you buy. See our Sun King solar guide for its bigger home systems.
Geepas and Century
Geepas torches and lanterns are sold widely in the Gulf and East Africa, and some reach Nigeria through importers. We could not find current Nigerian listings with prices in October 2026. Century is well known in Nigeria for rechargeable fans, but we could not verify current Century torch listings either. If a shop offers either brand, compare the battery size and price with the DP and Lontor figures above.
Which battery type should a rechargeable torch have?
- Sealed lead-acid (4V): found in older-style lanterns. Cheap and heavy, and it needs a long charge, often 12–18 hours. It is damaged if you leave it flat for weeks.
- Lithium-ion (often an 18650 cell): used in most modern torches. Light, charges faster by USB or Type-C, and holds charge well in storage.
- LiFePO4: used by Sun King and some better lanterns. More charge cycles and safer in heat, but less common in cheap torches.
Watch out for torches claiming huge mAh figures at low prices. Fake or recycled cells are common in open markets, much like the “London-used” batteries sold for inverters.
How long does a rechargeable torch last on one charge?
Use this formula: hours = battery Wh ÷ torch watts, then take off about 15% for losses.
- A 2,000mAh 18650 cell at 3.7V holds 2 × 3.7 = 7.4Wh.
- On a 3W high beam: 7.4 ÷ 3 = 2.5 hours, × 0.85 = about 2 hours.
- On a 1W low beam: 7.4 ÷ 1 = 7.4 hours, × 0.85 = about 6 hours.
A big lantern like the Lontor CTL-OL153 has a 5,600mAh battery at 4V, which is 5.6 × 4 = 22.4Wh. That is three times the torch above, which is why it can run 6–16 hours depending on the mode.
| Product | Battery | Stated runtime | Price seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| DP lantern-torch (Jiji) | Not stated | 14 h torch / 6 h lantern | about ₦5,000 |
| Lontor CTL-EL112 | Built-in, not stated | 2–4 h | about ₦9,900 |
| Lontor CTL-OL153 | 5,600mAh, 4V | 6–16 h | about ₦38,900 |
| Sun King Pico Plus | 1.4Wh LiFePO4 | up to 72 h on low | ₦10,000 (listed; not confirmed current) |
Is a solar-charging torch worth it?
If NEPA gives you only a few hours a day, yes. A solar torch keeps charging even when there is no light for days. The catch is the tiny panel on most torches. A built-in panel of around 0.5W gives roughly 0.5 × 4.5 sun hours × 0.7 = about 1.6Wh a day. That is enough for a small lantern on low, but it would take several days to fill a 7.4Wh torch from flat.
Kits with a separate panel charge much faster. The Binatone TK-200 comes with a 3W panel: 3 × 4.5 × 0.7 = about 9.5Wh a day, enough to fill a typical torch battery in one sunny day. Treat solar as a backup and charge from NEPA or a generator when you can.
Torch, lantern or something bigger?
- Torch: for walking outside, checking the generator, or going to the toilet at night.
- Lantern: stands on a table and lights a small room. Good for students, shops and hostels.
- Fixed solar bulb: better if you want the same room lit every night. See our solar bulb price guide.
- Fan as well as light: see our rechargeable fan price guide; many fans include an LED light.
- Lights, fan and phones together: a small solar generator, such as our 300W Edenpower portable solar generator, which comes with a torch, a DC fan and a solar panel.
How do you make a rechargeable torch last longer?
- Recharge before the light gets very dim. Running lead-acid lanterns flat damages the battery.
- If you will not use it for a month, charge it fully first, then top it up every few weeks.
- Do not leave it charging for days. Unplug it once it is full.
- Keep it out of direct sun on a car dashboard. Heat shortens battery life.
- Buy from an authorised dealer or a trusted Jumia seller, and test it before you leave a shop in Alaba or Computer Village.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a DP rechargeable torch in Nigeria?
In October 2026, DP handheld torches were listed on Jumia at about ₦5,200–₦6,000, DP zoom torches at about ₦6,600–₦8,000, and the DP searchlight at about ₦14,000.
What is the best rechargeable lantern in Nigeria?
For a cheap lantern, DP and the Lontor CTL-EL112 (about ₦9,900) are easy to find. For long runtime, the Lontor CTL-OL153 has a 5,600mAh battery and 6–16 hours of light, at about ₦38,900.
Why does my rechargeable torch die quickly?
Usually the battery has worn out, or it was smaller than advertised from the start. Lead-acid lanterns also lose capacity if they are often left flat. Some torches let you replace the 18650 cell; sealed ones have to be replaced.
Can I charge a rechargeable torch with a power bank?
Yes, if it charges by USB or Type-C. Older lanterns that plug straight into a wall socket cannot be charged from a power bank.
Need lighting or backup power for your home? Visit our shop.
Sources
- Jumia Nigeria: rechargeable flashlight listings
- Jumia Nigeria: rechargeable and solar lantern listings
- Slot: Lontor CTL-OL153 rechargeable camping lamp
- Jiji: DP LED emergency rechargeable lantern-torch listing
Last updated: October 2026. Prices are asking prices seen on Nigerian marketplaces in October 2026 and change with the naira exchange rate and between sellers. Runtimes are as stated by sellers or makers. This article is for information only.
















Comments 2